Travel and Safety Tips

Hawaii is a beautiful and popular travel destination. Although Hawaii is relatively safe and most people have a wonderful vacation, there are some crimes that exist.

Please keep the following in mind when visiting our islands:
  1. When you arrive in Honolulu, drop your luggage off at your hotel before going sightseeing. Hotels will usually hold your luggage if your room is not ready. Do not leave your luggage unattended in your car.
  2. Never leave valuables unattended. This includes leaving them on the beach (even if they are hidden in a shoe, in the sand, or under a towel), in a car or trunk of a car, in a shopping cart, at a restaurant…etc. Heed warnings from car rental agencies and other notices.
  3. Lock your valuables, such as passports and large amounts of cash, in the hotel safe. Carry as few valuables as possible and only what you need for the day. Never carry large amounts of cash.
  4. If possible, shop on your way back to your hotel so your purchases won’t be left in your car.
  5. Keep your hotel room locked and check the peephole before opening the door.
  6. Always keep your belongings within eyesight when checking in or out of a hotel.
  7. If you are checking out of your hotel and are not going to the airport right away, leave your luggage with the bell desk or see if you can check in for your flight early. Do not leave your luggage in your car while you do some last-minute shopping, sunbathing, or sightseeing prior to your flight home.
  8. Be observant and follow your instincts. Be aware of your surroundings, such as vehicular and pedestrian traffic around you. If you sense an unsafe situation or person, take extra precautions or leave the vicinity.
  9. Bring a photocopy of your identification (such as passport or driver license) in case the original is lost or stolen. Keep both sets separate. Obtaining a replacement passport may also be easier if you have a copy of your passport.
TSA Requirements and Updates

For a list of items that are permitted and prohibited on flight, please visit the following TSA (Transportation Security Administration) link:
TSA Permitted/Prohibited Items

Helpful Travel Links

Here is some helpful contact information to assist you with your travel needs.

Airlines  |  Car Rental Agencies

Airlines

Air Canada 888-247-2262 www.aircanada.com
Air France 800-237-2747 www.airfrance.com
Air New Zealand 800-262-1234 www.airnewzealand.com
Alaska Airlines/Horizon Air 800-252-7522 www.alaskaair.com
All Nippon Airways 800-235-9262 www.anaskyweb.com
American Airlines 800-433-7300 www.aa.com
British Airways 800-247-9297 www.britishairways.com
Delta Air Lines 800-221-1212 www.delta.com
China Airlines 800-227-5118 www.china-airlines.com
Continental Airlines 800-525-0280 www.continental.com
go! airlines 888-435-9462 www.iflygo.com
Hawaiian Airlines 800-367-5320 www.hawaiianair.com
Island Air 800-652-6541 www.islandair.com
Japan Airlines 800-525-3663 www.jal.com
Korean Air 800-438-5000 www.koreanair.com
Lufthansa 800-645-3880 www.lufthansa.com
Mokulele Airlines 866-260-7070 www.mokuleleairlines.com
Northwest Airlines 800-225-2525 www.nwa.com
Philippine Airlines 800-435-9725 www.philippineairlines.com
Qantas Airways 800-227-4500 www.qantas.com
Southwest Airlines 800-435-9792 www.southwest.com
United Airlines 800-241-6522 www.united.com
US Airways 800-428-4322 www.usairways.com


Flight arrival & departure information in U.S. & Canada www.FlightArrivals.com

Car Rental Agencies

Alamo 800-327-9633 www.goalamo.com
Avis 800-331-1212 www.avis.com
Budget 800-527-0700 www.budget.com
Dollar 800-800-4000 www.dollar.com
Enterprise 800-261-7331 www.enterprise.com
Hertz 800-654-3131 www.hertz.com
National 800-227-7368 www.nationalcar.com
Thrifty 800-847-4389 www.thrifty.com
HomeAbout UsClient ServicesTraveler InformationDonationsEventsVolunteer ProgramContact Us


Travelers Aid of Honolulu • Waikiki Shopping Plaza • 2250 Kalakaua Avenue, Suite 403-3 • Honolulu, HI 96815
Phone: (808) 926-8274 • Fax: (808) 926-0500 • Email: jrich-vash@hawaii.rr.com